The Venetian Pantry
Spilling Tea
EP 3: Building a timeless fashion brand with Gillian Stevens
3
0:00
-1:07:47

EP 3: Building a timeless fashion brand with Gillian Stevens

This week, I'm sitting down with fashion designer, photographer, entrepreneur and mother of three Gillian Stevens to talk about her journey to build her own slow-fashion clothing line.
3

I came across Gillian’s Instagram profile back in 2021, around the time I opened The Venetian Pantry. Back then, Gillian was a lifestyle photographer, and I was immediately captured by her timeless sense of style, calm interiors and idyllic family life.

When she decided to pivot her career and start her own clothing line, I was there to watch it all unfold in awe. I would describe Gillian’s sense of style as timeless and effortlessly elegant, and her clothes appeal to women of all ages.

We recorded this episode back in July, as Gillian was wrapping up a month’s long trip to Europe with her family to shoot her next Fall campaign.

After following Gillian for so long online, I was a little starstruck, but the thing that impressed me the most was her ability to be completely open and vulnerable. We touch on things like self-doubt, social media trolling and cancel culture, the less glamorous sides of having your own business, as well as Gillian's continued fascination with the UK as a source of inspiration for her designs.

Thanks for reading The Venetian Pantry! This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

Inspired by her recent trip to Provence, I made her a goat cheese, figs and honey galette made with an olive oil crust, a peach, courgettes and mint salad and macerated strawberries for pudding.

After lunch, Gillian asked me to try on some of her pieces of her new Autumn collection and we had a fun little photoshoot for her blog. I was so impressed with the fit and absolutely loved wearing those pieces. The chocolate colour is absolutely stunning!

Here I’m wearing the Blair Dress, £158.00

Blair Top, Chocolate, £103.00
Meg Skirt, £127

Jude Pullover, £233


Hope you enjoyed this conversation! I would love to know your thoughts (also, which was your favourite outfit?)

Leave a comment

The Venetian Pantry is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast

The Venetian Pantry
Spilling Tea
Welcome to Spilling Tea, the podcast where I invite people I admire to come over for lunch. Each week, I open the doors to my home (and pantry) to a different guest: we chat about career and personal highs and lows, the path to entrepreneurship, their dreams and aspirations for the future and the wisdom they gained along the way. All accompanied by some homemade food and a good cup of tea. Tune in every Monday for a new episode.
Listen on
Substack App
Apple Podcasts
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
The Venetian Pantry